If you’re ever involved in a car accident in Oregon, there are several steps you’ll need to take to ensure your safety and your ability to collect damages if you’re injured in a wreck.
Every day, more than 100 people in the Portland metro area are involved in car accidents. In many of these wrecks, someone was careless or distracted. Even though Oregon has strict distracted driving laws on the books, accidents still happen. If you’re ever involved in a car accident in Oregon, there are several steps you’ll need to take to ensure your safety and your ability to collect damages if you’re injured in a wreck. If you’ve already been hurt in an accident, please contact Miller & Hopp Attorneys at Law for a free injury consultation to discuss how we can collect monetary compensation for your injuries.
1. Understand the Law
The state of Oregon, by law, requires drivers of a vehicle to report the accident if it meets any of the following criteria:
- A person was injured or killed in the crash.
- The accident caused property damages that would exceed $1,500.
- A vehicle was towed because of the wreck.
Failing to report an accident that meets these criteria within 72 hours after the incident can result in fines and other legal issues. Please keep in mind that you must report the wreck if it met any of these three points, not all three in combination. You can file an official report with the police.
2. Remain at the Scene
Immediately after a crash, stop, or pull over where it’s safe, and you’re not obstructing traffic or creating a dangerous situation for other people. Stay at the scene of the accident until police arrive. Unless your injuries force you to leave, you must remain at the site until the police arrive.
You must also give the other driver your name and address, the name of your insurance company, and your car’s registration number. If you have any passengers, they will also need to give their names and addresses to the other drive. You must also provide the other driver the name and address of the car’s owner if you are not the owner of the vehicle.
If another person is injured, call for an ambulance, and assist the injured if it’s reasonable and safe for you to do so. Warn passing traffic of an accident if it is reasonably safe, and make sure to get the names and addresses of any witnesses to the crash.
3. Do Not Negotiate
Immediately after a wreck, injuries aren’t always apparent. It can take weeks or months for your medical team to assess the extent of your injuries fully. But the insurance company will want to settle with you right after the accident so they can avoid paying for the full extent of your injuries, pain, and suffering. Do not negotiate and settle with the insurance company on your own. After you’ve been injured in a car accident in Oregon, give Miller & Hopp Attorneys at Law a call to discuss your rights and options for moving forward.
Call (888) 833-1023 for a FREE consultation.